Detroit Autorama 2023: On the Road to the Ridler

February, 2023

Inner Page

The 70th annual Detroit Autorama will be held at Huntington Place (formerly known as COPO Center) on February 24 – 26.   The focal point of this three-day show is the crowning of the Ridler, an honor that is given annually to an exceptional vehicle.  This award, which has become one of the country’s most prestigious automotive awards, emphasizes creativity, engineering, and quality workmanship.  However, prior to selecting the winner, the field of contenders is narrowed down to eight finalists, appropriately named the “Great 8.”

The Great 8

1967 Chevy Nova

Owner: Shawn Nichoalds of Foristell, MO
Builder: Samson Design LLC Customs & Hot Rod Interior Design of Marshall, MO

Derick Samson (Builder) and Shawn Nichoalds (Owner) Talk about 1967 Chevy Nova

1955 Chevy Convertible

Owner: David & Kenny Snodgrass of Melbourne, FL
Builder: Snodgrass Restoration of Melbourne, FL

David Snodgrass (Builder and Owner) Talks about 1955 Chevy Convertible

1950 Mercury 2-Door

Owner: Luigi Deriggi of Toms River, NJ
Builder: Pro Comp Custom of Glenshaw, PA

Bruce Harvey (Builder) Talks about 1950 Mercury

1958 Chevy Cameo Truck

Owner: Jim McDaniel of Cumming, GA
Builder: Hot Rod Construction, Inc. of Piedmont, SC

Dan Wickett of Hot Rod Construction Talks about 1958 Chevy Cameo Truck

1965 Mustang

Owner: Rejean Desjardins of Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Builder: Leon Boudreau of Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada

Leon Boudreau (Builder) Talks about 1965 Mustang

1953 Chevy 3100 Pickup

Owner: Tim Hampel of Arlington, TX
Builder: Killer Hot Rods of Arlington, TX

Nick Ryan (Builder) Talks about 1953 Chevy 3100 Pickup

1969 Dodge Superbee

Owner: Kathy Cargill of Blaine, MN
Builder: Brian Mosbek of Blaine, MN

Ron Grill (Co-Builder) Talks about 1969 Dodge Superbee

1978 Mustang King Cobra

Owner: George Conrad of Huron, OH
Builder: Rowe’s Rod & Custom< of Akron, OH

George Conrad (Owner) Talks about 1978 Mustang King Cobra

Click here for the winner of the 2023 Detroit Autorama Ridler award.